Workshop on the Indonesian Constitutional Court

For those in Sydney, a workshop on the Indonesian Constitutional Court will be held today and tomorrow. Details below:
Workshop on “The Constitutional Court & Democracy in Indonesia: Judging the First Decade”

11-12 December 2014
Presented by the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law, UNSW Law Faculty and Centre for Asian and Pacific Law, Sydney law School

Draft Program
11 December, UNSW Faculty of Law

Opening Plenary (Law School Theatre) – Panel Discussion with
Prof. Dr. Jimly Asshiddiqie, SH, founding Chief Justice of the Constitutional Court
Prof. Dr. Denny Indrayana, SH, former Deputy Minister for Justice

Chairs:  Professor Rosalind Dixon and A/Prof Simon Butt

Opening Reception – UNSW Staff Seminar Room, Level 2

12 December, University of Sydney Faculty of Law

Venue: Sydney Law School, Room 446


9.30-9:40am     Dean’s Welcome (Professor Joellen Riley)

9:40-10am         Introducing participants and conference themes (A/P Simon Butt)

10-11.30am       Workshop Session 1: The Court, the Constitution & Democratic Consolidation
Fritz Siregar (UNSW), The Creation & Consolidation of the Constitutional Court
Dr Stefanus Hendrianto (Santa Clara), ‘Who are We Now? Political Liberalism and the Indonesian Constitutional Court’
Commentators:  Prof. Dr. Denny Indrayana, Mark Tushnet (Harvard Law)
Chair: Professor Rosalind Dixon (UNSW)

Morning Tea
Workshop Session 2: The Constitutional Court, Islam & Democracy                                                                                                   
Dr Melissa Crouch, Islam and the Constitutional Court
Dr Nadirsyah Hosen (Wollongong) The Constitutional Court & ‘Islamic’ Judges
Commentators:   Prof. Dr. Jimly Asshiddiqie, SH, Simon Butt (Sydney)
Chair:    Dr Lucas Lixinski (UNSW)
Workshop Session 3 Case Studies
Professor Tim Lindsey(Melbourne), Hatta, Art 33 and the Constitutional Court
Dr Arskal Salim (UWS), Piety and Penalty in the Practice of Charity in Indonesia: A Judicial Review of Law 23 of 2011 on Zakat
Commentators:               Pan Faiz (UQ), Joel Harrison (Macqaurie)
Chair:                                  Professor Theunis Roux (UNSW)

Court in Indramayu, West Java, 2010.